But Doctor, I Was Expecting a Mustang   2 comments


Those of you who know me know how much I love Ford Mustangs. I don’t care if it’s an old 1965 coupe or a new 2011 Roush Stage 3. The Mustang is my dream car with no apologies to Lamborghini and Ferrari. I’ve been scouring eBay and craigslist for a couple of years just looking for the right deal. I’ve got half a dozen magazine subscriptions all related to Mustangs as I research the vast options and try to learn what I can. I want to avoid getting trapped like Barney when he bought the car from the little ole lady on the Andy Griffith Show.

I also tend to get “analysis paralysis” on bigger decisions like this. Depending on which day of the week you ask me, I might tell you I want a 1967 or 1968 fastback. The next day I think I would rather have a 2004 Mach 1. The next day a 2003 Cobra sure looks nice. And don’t get me started on Bullitts, Shelbys, Saleens, or Steedas. But after a couple of years it’s time to get this thing done. I’ve finally narrowed it down to the Mach 1 or the Cobra. Nicely optioned, not as expensive as the Shelbys, but yet a little more rare than the average ‘Stang I see around town. I can also use it to channel my inner NASCAR racer by doing autocrosses and maybe a trip down the quarter-mile every now and then. Now I’m just looking for the right deal to come along to pull the trigger.

So now you know how I came about buying…a completely stripped down 1966 Ford F-100 pickup. No upholstery, no headliner, no carpet, no trim work (although some trim pieces came in the cab). It had been sitting in a barn for two years but the body panels are straight and seem pretty solid. Not a LOT of rust but some pinholes in the floor pans and bed. The 1970 Ford 2v 390 engine seems pretty strong for not having run in over two years and the 1970’s era glass packs sound pretty good through the true dual exhaust.

Next I thought why not embarrass myself more, besides buying an old truck in need of restoration, by keeping a record of the restoration for the world to see as I go along and try to bring this beauty back to its former glory. So I guess that’s what this blog is about. The battle of a mechanically inept owner trying to get a 45-year-old truck back on the road.

Posted September 23, 2010 by jglee920 in General

2 responses to “But Doctor, I Was Expecting a Mustang

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Nice! This should be fun.

    You still need an 1/8th nitro buggy though. 🙂

Leave a Reply

