2011 Pigeon Forge F100 Supernationals and All Ford Show   Leave a comment


A couple of weeks ago I got the chance to go to the 2011 F100 Supernationals in Pigeon Forge, Tennessee. The Smokey Mountains are my favorite place in the world so I didn’t need much of an excuse to make a day-trip up there to look at some good looking rides. Hannah had her annual band banquet on Friday night so we couldn’t leave until after it was over. We pulled out of our driveway around 1:30 am Saturday morning, I got some Mountain Dew, and we were on our way. The trip up was uneventful except for Sheryl who would later be diagnosed with a hernia due to a giggling fit somewhere in eastern Tennessee in the wee hours.  Things are apparently a lot funnier at that time of the morning than normal.

We arrived in Pigeon Forge around 7:00 am Saturday which was perfect because the gates didn’t open until 8:00 am. This gave us just enough time to get a good breakfast at our favorite pancake house in town – Smokies Breakfast House. A couple of eggs, some bacon, and a few pancakes later and I was ready for some trucks.  With the exception of the Mustang 45th Anniversary show, this show was the biggest I have ever attended and I would guess more than a couple of hundred vehicles were on display. I did see that at least 41 states were represented. There were several big vendor displays including LMC and Dennis Carpenter plus a huge swap meet area. Sam Memmelo of Two Guys Garage fame served as the Master of Ceremonies.

Here are just a few pictures of the trucks and cars at the show. I’ll start out with what I believe was the 2010 Truck of the Year that was back this year. This one has a special place in my heart because, with the exception of the ’66 grill, this truck looks very much like the truck I learned to drive in. Of course it MAY be in a little better shape than ours was back in the day.

Hannah, Sheryl, and I all fell in love with this next truck. I quickly fell out of love when the owner told us the paint color is a custom mix and part of that mix was a magenta color that’s $200 per bottle (not gallon). He’s got six coats on there and I forgot to ask how many clear coats he sprayed.

The wheels are a little large for me but I love the stance.

Beautiful engine work and engine bay

Custom interior with leather/suede seats and custom console

Gorgeous oak woodwork and staining. I’m still undecided on a wood bed for JP. Sheryl and I like them and it would sure hide some of JP’s bumps and bruises but boy they are expensive if done right. Plus, I Hannah still plans on using JP as a truck and not a show piece.

Below are some shots of various vehicles I thought were cool.

    

    

    

    

    

    

Rockin’ it old skool.  I wonder from the license plate if he’s actually a fan of the old Harley engine or if it’s the guy’s nickname?

This is what I’d like JP’s motor and bay to look like. Lotsa chrome. Unfortunately, all we have right now is the same radiator hose.

As Monty Python’s Flying Circus used to say, “And now for something completely different.”

    

The sign said this used to be a four door hard top with I believe a four cylinder or maybe a small six cylinder engine. It now has a V8. I’m not a fan of the color but I’ll bet this thing will scoot now.

Finally, judging by the expression on my face I believe Hannah must have taken this picture while I was trying to figure out how to get JP restored for less total money than most of these rides had in their paint jobs.

That does it for this installment. We are working on the bed right now and hope to have it where we can put it back on the frame in a couple of weeks. It’s almost ready for some paint on the underside as I’ve gotten the pinholes in the bed floor filled and about half of the underside of the bed floor rust-treated and encapsulated. I’ve also been learning about the miracle of fiberglass cloth and resin as I try to patch a hole in the front panel of the bed. That stuff is pretty amazing. After that the front bed panel will be ready for some primer and we’ll stick the bed back on and make JP street-legal again.

Posted May 25, 2011 by jglee920 in General

Leave a Reply

