2012 Pigeon Forge F100 Supernationals and All Ford Show Part 1 – Slick ‘60’s   1 comment


Well, it’s that time of year again. Time for the Pigeon Forge F100 Supernationals. This year I went on Friday because my niece was graduating from high school and Hannah’s baton recital was on Saturday. I was a little worried that the show wouldn’t be cranked up very well even though it started on Thursday. Boy, I shouldn’t have worried about that. I haven’t seen any official numbers but I heard that there was well over 500 vehicles on display. I also overheard several people say as I walked up and down the aisles that they couldn’t believe how many folks were there compared to Friday of last year. There were also vendors such as LMC and Dennis Carpenter along with a lot of performance, hot rod, and interior shops. The swap meet area looked like it was drawing a lot of interest as they had a ton of parts if you had something you were looking for.

My alarm clock went off at 1:30 a.m. so I slowly crawled out of bed. Knowing this was just going to be a very quick day trip I had gotten my stuff together the night before so I wouldn’t be in a panic trying to leave. By 2:15 a.m. I was on the road with my Diet Mountain Dew in the cup holder, a Hershey’s bar in my hand, and Pandora Radio keeping me awake on the stereo. The drive was thankfully uneventful and peaceful. Somewhere around Knoxville the sun began to rise and, based on the big red ball of fire staring me in the face, I’ll bet it was a really pretty one at New Found Gap in the Smokey Mountains. I arrived in Pigeon Forge around 7:30 a.m. to find my favorite breakfast place didn’t open until 8:00. Since the Supernationals didn’t start until 8:00 as well, I decided to run up to Gatlinburg to look around and kill some time.

By the time I got back to Pigeon Forge the restaurant was open so I got some breakfast and headed on over to the show arriving about 9:00. Even though there were many F100’s showing up at the same time there were still literally hundreds of trucks already on the show field.  I’m assuming they were left over night because there’s no way they could have gotten that many trucks in there that morning. My previous post shows you a shot of the show field, or lot in this case, as I entered the display area. I should have turned around 180 degrees and taken a shot of the vendor areas but I was so excited to see the trucks I forgot.

I spent over five hours checking out the swap meet, browsing the vendors, and of course scoping out the many incredible trucks on display. The weather couldn’t have been better except it was pretty hot. It was sunny, in the high 80’s, and pretty humid. This brings me to my ONLY complaint about the event. They need more concession stands because the lines were pretty long every time I went to get something to drink. Keep that in mind for next year so you can bring your own refreshments. With all of that being said, let’s get to the show. I took so many pictures that I’m not going to say anything about the pictures so I can include as many shots as possible. I’m also going to break my coverage of the show into three parts: Slicks (first of course), other interesting vehicles, and details/miscellaneous (i.e., pin striping, flames, etc.). I got a lot of ideas I would like to incorporate into JP and a lot of ideas I definitely want to avoid. The argument I keep having in my head is about how far down the car show road I want to go with JP. After the Supernationals it may be farther than I originally intended.  I keep having to remind myself, “JP is not a show truck, JP is not a show truck.”

First up is a shot of the emcee of the event, Sam Memmolo, star of Two Guys Garage and Motorhead Garage.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And now to the stuff we really care about.

        

            
            
            
            
            
            
            
            
            
            
        

As you can see, Slicks were represented very well at the show. I’ve tried to show a sampling of all styles from rats to six-figure trailer queens so I hope there is something here for everybody. In a few days I’m going to post some other cool vehicles from the show that don’t really have anything to do with Slicks except that they’re Blue Ovals. But if you’re like me it may give you some ideas to incorporate into your own projects and rides.

Posted May 22, 2012 by jglee920 in General

One response to “2012 Pigeon Forge F100 Supernationals and All Ford Show Part 1 – Slick ‘60’s

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ive been going to the show since ’98 my dad got me hooked on Pats show always loved it im building a ’52F1 that my great grand paw bought new great show this year looking forward to next year my thoughts and prayers go out to Don Hill family from Smoothy Fabrication in his passing back in March he was a very upstanding man friendly treated as if he knew me all my life got the boards for my truck from him spoke with his daughter monday and they are still in buisness.

Leave a Reply

